Education Forensics: English Class Room 108
Education Forensics: English Class Room 108 Podcast
Give me $10 Million and I Promise I'll Repay You Later
0:00
-17:00

Give me $10 Million and I Promise I'll Repay You Later

and with 25% interest in as a soon as 2 weeks.

Does the above sound implausible?

It does to me too. As a matter of fact, I wouldn’t do the above deal with $100. However, some very smart people bought it, and got stiffed. The guy pulling this off, with his crew, including his son, were finally brought to justice.

You can read about the case here.

I was on the jury. We deliberated after 6 days of testimony and no defense witnesses. We effectively got a PhD in the power of rhetoric and the weaknesses in human psychology. There were some very, very smart people who bought not only the above pitch, but “give me $28,000, and I’ll send you back double in 2 weeks.”

Then, for the next few months, got in return via WhatsApp:

  • I’ll contact you tomorrow at 4.

  • The seller is having a problem.

  • We are going to work well together.

  • The buyer’s son is in the hospital, as soon as he gets out in 4 days I’ll get you the info.

  • Working on it now.

  • I’m with a client, call you in 3 hrs.

  • I’ll have the new wiring instructions on Tues.

  • Send me your wiring instruction.

  • The BTC is on the way.

  • There was a problem with the account.

On and on, smart, well schooled people went for it. I eventually dedicated a page to writing the excuses made as to why their money hadn’t been returned. The above is a shortened list from memory.

Only because 3 of the victims had money and went after these guys legally was there even a case. Notice, it doesn’t say ‘lend me the money’, it says GIVE me the money. And they did. 8 years later, the verdict came down.

Discussion about this podcast

Education Forensics: English Class Room 108
Education Forensics: English Class Room 108 Podcast
My teaching career began in September 1996. I have a lot to say - some if it is wonderful and some of it isn't. Practically everything you've heard about the school business is wrong. At this stage, I've basically seen it all.